Skip to main content
The Making of Medicine

Tag: Innovator of the Year

Lee Ritterband, PhD, stands with arms crossed in front of a blurry background. He wears a checked, button-down collar shirt.
Lee Ritterband: Innovator of the Year

Lee Ritterband, who created the anti-insomnia program SHUTi, has been named 2019’s Innovator of the Year by UVA’s Licensing & Ventures Group.

Jeff Elias, MD, pioneered the use of focused ultrasound for the treatment of the most common movement disorder, essential tremor.
Focused Ultrasound Work Earns Jeff Elias Innovator of the Year

The UVA Licensing & Ventures Group has named Dr. Jeff Elias the Edlich-Henderson Innovator of the Year for his pioneering work with focused ultrasound. The award recognizes a UVA faculty member whose work is making a major impact on society, and Dr. Elias' certainly is. Dr. Elias is basically the…